Employment Lawyer for NJ Wage Theft Act
Experienced Employment Lawyer for NJ Wage Theft Act Defending the Rights of Employees in Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Ocean County, Union County, and Throughout NJ
Employees in New Jersey are entitled to fair wages and proper compensation for any hours of overtime worked. The law also protects employees from retaliation from employers. If an employer violates these rights, an employee can take legal action against them and seek compensation for lost wages and other damages. With the help of an experienced and skilled Employment lawyer for NJ wage theft act, you can ensure that your rights as an employee in New Jersey are protected.
At Lombardi and Lombardi, P.A. we are committed to defending the rights of employees who have been treated unfairly by their employers. We will review your case and determine whether you have a valid claim under the New Jersey wage theft act. We will fight to ensure that your rights are protected and that you recover the wages that are rightly yours.
Unfairly Treated In The Workplace And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
If your employer has violated your rights as an employee in New Jersey, don’t hesitate to contact us. We provide free no-obligation consultation for employees whose rights have been violated by their employers. We will help you better understand your rights and the options available to you. Contact us now to schedule your free consultation.
What Key Changes Did the New Jersey Wage Theft Act Bring?
The New Jersey Wage Theft Act was signed into law in 2019. The act amends New Jersey wage laws including the New Jersey Wage Payment Law, The New Jersey Wage Collection Law, and the New Jersey Hour Law to protect employees’ rights to fair compensation. Some key changes that resulted from the enactment of the law include:
Changes in the limitation period
In the past, employees only had two years in which to file a claim for compensation for unpaid wages. However, the New Jersey Theft of Wages act extended this period to 6 years. Employees, therefore, have 6 years within which to file a claim for unpaid wages. However, this doesn’t mean that you have a lot of time to get around to filing your claim. You should begin the process as soon as possible. Speak with an experienced attorney and begin the recovery process as soon as possible. This will give your attorney ample time to investigate your claim and build a strong claim on your behalf.
Consequences for failing to maintain proper records
In the past employers could use the excuse of not having kept proper records as a defense against employees filing for unpaid wages. However, with the New Jersey Theft of Wages Act, employers can no longer use this excuse. If an employer failed to maintain proper records of wages paid, it would lead to the automatic assumption that the employee’s claim for unpaid wages is valid.
Paul R Garelick Is An Excellent Attorney. He Made Me Feel Like Family.
Lombardi & Lombardi Provide A Good Service For A Good Value.
Lombardi & Lombardi Is Truthful, Helpful And Very Patient.
Liquidated damages and attorney’s fees
In the past, employers that were found to have failed to pay an employee’s wages were not also held liable for liquidated damages. This has changed under the Wages Theft Act. Employers that are found to have failed to pay an employee’s wages are now required by law to not only pay the wages that are due to the employee but also pay for liquidated damages. This includes covering the employee’s attorney fees.
The Wage Theft Act was designed to further strengthen anti-retaliation provisions. Actions by employers against employees within 90 days of filing a complaint will be considered an act of retaliation. The law also expands the definition of retaliation to protect employees that speak out against wage theft. Previous laws did not protect employees that informed others of their rights.
Penalties for employers that are found to have violated employee rights were enhanced under the Wage Theft Act. This act imposes a fine of $500 to $1000 on these employers. They will also be required to pay a penalty of 20 percent in addition to the wages owed if this is their first offense. Employers that violate the rights of their employees also risk facing up to 90 days in jail as a result.
Employers that have been found guilty of violating their employee’s rights previously face fines of up to $2000. They also face the possibility of imprisonment of up to 100 days and 20 percent in addition to the wages owed to the employee.
The pattern of wage nonpayment
If a pattern of wage nonpayment can be established, then the employer may be charged with a third-degree crime. This is punishable by three to five years of imprisonment as well as a fine of $15,000. An experienced employment lawyer for NJ wage theft act will investigate your case to gather evidence proving a pattern of wage nonpayment and help you seek justice against your employer.
Get Advice From An Experienced Employment Law Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 732-564-7165 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
Frequently Asked Questions about the NJ Wage Theft Act
Yes. The New Jersey Wage Theft Act sets the statute of limitations for unpaid wage theft claims at six years. This was increased from two years and gives employees a long time in which to recover their unpaid wages. It is therefore important to speak to a knowledgeable and experienced employment lawyer for NJ wage theft act to determine if you have a valid claim and how you can pursue the claim. Your attorney will ensure that you get started on recovering wages before the deadline.
If your claim is successful, your employer will be required under the Wage Theft Act to compensate you for lost wages and other damages resulting from you’re being fired. If you were fired in retaliation, your employer will be required to pay twice the amount in lost wages that you suffered. They will also be required to pay for the costs you incurred in filing a lawsuit. This includes the attorney’s fee. Your employer may also be required to offer you a reinstatement if you were fired in retaliation. This is applicable only if the reinstatement is not prohibited by law.