Hit & Run Defense Attorney
Aggressive Traffic Ticket Lawyers Defend Clients Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey
When it comes to motor vehicle accidents, New Jersey traffic laws are fierce. If you are involved in a collision and there is property damage or someone has sustained bodily injury, you must exchange certain information with the driver of the other vehicle(s) involved in the incident. In most cases, it is preferred that all drivers remain at the scene until law enforcement arrives. Even if only your property was damaged, you must follow the guidelines set for in N.J.S.A. 39:4-129.
If you or someone you know is facing hit and run charges in New Jersey, it’s critically important to contact an aggressive traffic ticket defense lawyer. At Lombardi and Lombardi, we’ve been helping drivers fight serious traffic violations since 1975. We will explain your rights and fight hard to protect your driving privileges. Call today for a free consultation about your charges.
What is a Hit & Run Accident?
NJ traffic laws impose the following requirements on drivers when they are involved in an accident. (Hit and run laws do not extend to passengers or witnesses.) If an incident occurs and others are present, you must stop your vehicle as soon as possible and get safely out of the line of traffic. You must do the following things to avoid being ticketed for leaving the scene of an accident:
- Exchange information (name, address, insurance information, registration) with the person or people responsible for the other vehicles.
- Give contact information to police, passengers in any car that was damaged, anyone who suffered injury in the collision, and all witnesses.
- Provide assistance to anyone injured in an accident. This includes calling 9-1-1 and even taking someone to the hospital when appropriate. If possible, remain with the injured party until help arrives.
Note: If an accident occurred and there was no one present (a fender bender in a parking lot or backing up into a mailbox, as examples), the law requires drivers to attempt to locate the owners of the damaged property. Once contact is made, provide name and address to the owner of the property.
If the owner of the damaged vehicle or property cannot be located, the driver who caused the damage is required by NJ law to attach a note with name and contact information in an obvious place where the property owner will see it. If there is any damage to property other than a vehicle, the driver who caused the damage must also notify the local police department.
What are the Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Monmouth or Middlesex Counties?
Penalties associated with hit and run are severe, even when the accident resulted in no injuries or simply minor injuries. Further, it doesn’t matter if the damage incurred was minor, like a small scratch. A number of points on your driving record for leaving the scene of an accident depend on whether or not someone was hurt in the incident. If no one was injured, you will get two DMV points if you are convicted of hit and run.
If someone “sustained bodily injury” in the accident and you left the scene without following traffic laws, you may be assessed eight points. If someone was critically injured or killed, the penalties imposed are elevated considerably. In fact, a driver convicted of hit and run involving a severe injury or wrongful death will face a minimum of $2,500 in fines up to $5,000. At the judge’s discretion, you may even go to jail for up to 180 days. Further, stiff insurance premium surcharges are likely.
Call Now for Your Free Consultation with a Savvy Hit-and-Run Defense Lawyer
At Lombardi and Lombardi, rest assured, we will investigate your accident to find out if you have been wrongly accused of leaving the scene of the accident. Perhaps you attempted to find the owner of the other car and weren’t successful. Maybe the police officer made an error at the scene. Our lawyers will negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf to get your charges downgraded or dismissed.
Contact us today for a free consultation about your hit-and-run charges. We won’t judge you. Instead, we will listen to what happened, explain your rights and get to work right away to defend your rights and protect your freedom.
Our Practice Areas
- Personal Injury
- Motor Vehicle Accidents
- Bike/Pedestrian Accidents
- Boating and Recreational Accidents
- Car Accidents
- Causes of Truck Accidents
- Distracted Driving Accidents
- Drunk Driving Accidents
- Highway Accidents
- How New Jersey No-Fault Insurance Works
- Intersection Accidents
- Left Turn Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Rear-End Collisions
- Truck Accidents
- Uber/Lyft Accidents
- Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Claims
- Premises Liability
- Products Liability
- Nursing Home Abuse
- Worker's Comp
- Medical Malpractice
- DUI & DWI
- Criminal Defense
- Employment Law
- Municipal Traffic Violations