Suspended License Ticket Lawyer in New Jersey
Skilled NJ Attorneys Fight Traffic Tickets and Protect Clients’ Driving Privileges in Monmouth County, Ocean County and Beyond
When your driver’s license gets suspended, practically every aspect of your life can be affected. Without the legal ability to drive, you may be forced to depend on public transportation and favors from friends. It’s not unusual to feel you have no choice but to “take a chance” and drive anyway. Don’t do it. Driving with a suspended license may very well land you in a heap of trouble that will linger for a long time.
If you are facing a traffic ticket for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey, it’s important that you act fast. The quicker you contact an experienced traffic ticket lawyer at Lombardi and Lombardi, the faster we can get started on your defense strategy. When possible, we will negotiate with the local prosecutor in traffic court to get your ticket downgraded or dismissed entirely. Depending on the circumstances, one of the penalties for driving with a suspended license is jail time. Don’t take chances with your future; contact a seasoned lawyer at Lombardi and Lombardi today for a free consultation about your traffic ticket.
What are the Consequences of Driving with a Suspended License in New Jersey?
According to NJSA 39:3-40 (Driving on a Suspended License), you may not operate a motor vehicle for the period of time your driving privileges have been suspended by an NJ traffic court judge. There are no conditional licenses in New Jersey. A suspended license means that you are not legally permitted to drive. Period. If you do get pulled over while driving with a suspended license, you need a knowledgeable lawyer on your side.
First Offense: If convicted of driving with a suspended license, you may face a fine up to $500 and three years of mandatory fines — $250 per year — by the NJ DMV.
Second Offense: The fine goes up to $750 and you may be sentenced to up to five days in jail.
Third Offense: You may be paying a $1,000 fine, spending up to 10 days in jail and the judge has the discretion to extend your driver’s license suspension for up to six months.
Regardless of whether it was your first or subsequent driving with a suspended license offense, if you were driving a vehicle with a suspended license and got into an accident that resulted in personal injury to someone else, the judge may take your driver’s license for a year.
Further, if you were convicted of DWI or DUI with a suspended license (NJSA 39:4-50), you will be facing additional stiff fines, including DMV surcharges, and up to three months in jail. Your driving privileges will be suspended for up to two more years.
At Lombardi and Lombardi, we never judge our clients facing traffic charges. Our lawyers focus on protecting your rights and defending you against your charges in traffic court. We know things happen for many reasons. For example, if your license was suspended because you failed to pay a ticket or show up in court as required, you may not even know that your license was suspended. The law states that a driver may not be held responsible for the act of driving with a suspended license if he or she was not provided with adequate notice by the New Jersey State Division of Motor Vehicles. Rest assured, if this is the case, Lombardi and Lombardi will fight your “administrative suspension.”
Contact a Knowledgeable Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyer about Your Driver’s License Suspension Today for Free
Getting your driver’s license suspended is serious business. Not being able to get to work or school, to shop for food or taxi your kids around will likely take a stressful toll on your whole life. The last thing you need is to add insult to injury by having the suspension extended because of a mistake. We can help. Contact Lombardi and Lombardi today and allow our legal team to fight for your driving privileges.